Mataawaka are Māori living in the Auckland region who are not in a Mana Whenua group.

There are many Mataawaka groups within the Tāmaki Makaurau region including Urban Authorities which were established to represent multiple tribes who migrated to Auckland.

The 1980’s saw an influx of Māori from many regions around the country and as a result, two Urban Authorities have been established to represent their interests in Tāmaki Makaurau.

There are also other organisations which provide services to mainly Māori clientele, e.g Māori Health Organisations, Education, Sport and Recreation etc.

Urban Authorities

Te Whānau o Waipareira Trust (West Auckland)

Manukau Urban Māori Authority (South Auckland)

Taurahere Organisations

These are some Iwi groups which represent a certain tribe within the Tāmaki Makaurau region, for example:

Ngāpuhi Iwi
Te Takiwa o Ngāpuhi ki te Tonga o Tāmaki Makaurau
(South Auckland)

Ngāpuhi ki Waitematā
(West Auckland)

Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi
Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tāmaki Makaurau te Raki

Ngāti Porou Iwi
Te Taurahere o Ngāti Porou ki Tāmaki